DBA Gaming and Military History-By Musashi

Skythian DBA Army Finished I/43b

I finished my 12 Units of Skythian Light Horse. This army allows for the entire army to made up for Light Horse! I have never played with an army with more than 2 Light Horse, so my learning curve is probably going to be in steppes (pun). Here are some pictures so you all can see what I wound up with. I’m happy with the basing, adding a tad big of higher grass like stuff to the green flocking looks subtle and better in person than in the pics. I may still highlight with paint, some of the grasses patches with a lighter color. But I can safely call these done and move on to my Early Samurai Army from the Khurasan figures I have received.

Click to enlarge as usual.

You can see some of our beehives in the backgroud 😉

 

We aren't Gay, We just ride that way!

11 responses

  1. Very nice my friend! Maybe we can do a pick up game and I’ll use my Hsiung-Nu II/38.

    Dave

    August 29, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    • I just looked up Hsiung-nu….we’ll have an all cav fight lot of LH running around lol. That should be a very interesting run of things and good battle reports for a blog! I don’t know anything about Hsiung-nu history wise, I’ll have to look it up!

      August 29, 2010 at 6:48 pm

  2. Musashi,
    I moved my blog spot stuff to one of these. Check it out, I do need to get around to adding more stuff to it.
    Dave

    http://daveblackmon.wordpress.com/

    August 29, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    • Hey Dave, thanks I have your blog already subscribed to. I sent you a note once letting you know I was probably your first subscriber lol. Hey, I’d still love to get together and play. I’m free Sundays usually. Let’s try to work out a time that works!
      thanks!

      August 29, 2010 at 6:45 pm

  3. Mark Davies

    Very cool army. Look forward to hearing how you go with it. Are you going to get the 3Cv general and the foot options? Or are those for wimps!

    I’ve only just got up to four 2LH with the Komnenans, and now that I’ve sold my Seljuks I’ll have to find another army to figure out LH tactics with.

    August 30, 2010 at 12:06 am

    • Hi Mark. Yes, hopefully Dave Blackmon and I can get together and have a real battle royale of lots of LH running around so I’ll keep my blog updated. 😉
      No, I’m not even going to field the options. My whole interest was in having all 12 be LH. Actually with this many LH I think the LH’s subsequent move thing means the general would be well served to keep up with the swarms of LH around the battlefield. I am not someone that generally thinks retreat, but I’m going to have to get comfortable with that with this army I think!

      August 30, 2010 at 12:51 am

  4. I like your “Dudes on a Date.”

    August 30, 2010 at 9:16 am

    • Somehow, I knew you would.

      August 30, 2010 at 11:00 am

  5. Derek

    Hello
    Your Skythian Army looks very nice indeed.
    What figures did you use?
    Kind Regards
    Derek

    August 30, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    • Hi Derek! Thanks for the sentiment. Lead soldiers never die! I purchased these figures almost 15 years ago at a Historicon. They’ve been sitting in my typical wargamer’s “to do pile” for that long lol. I’m almost certain they are the old Chariot Miniatures figs. Don’t hold me to it though! I’ll be posting battle reports as soon as they see some action!

      August 30, 2010 at 2:44 pm

  6. PTR

    That’s a nice colourful army! I particularly like the variety of horse colours that you’ve painted.

    August 30, 2010 at 6:41 pm

Leave a Reply

