DBA Gaming and Military History-By Musashi

Roman Army Boycott

My last blog detailed my first game in the Fall of Rome tourney. Marty Schmidt loaned me a Late Imperial Roman army, at my request so I could participate.

The very next evening, safely ensconced in my couch, I turn on the T.V and what comes on? The epic film, Ben Hur. There is nothing like fielding a Roman army in a gaming event only to come home to this quote from Judah Ben Hur (played by Charleton Heston) to his childhood friend, now Roman Tribune, Messala,

No! I warn you! Rome is an affront to God! Rome is strangling my people and my country, the whole Earth! But not forever. I tell you the day Rome falls there will be a shout of freedom such as the world has never heard before!

Well that’s not good. Now I feel like a dork.

Trust be told, this anti-Roman sentiment has been manufactured for me by Hollywood. Despite the obvious implications of allowing my sense of history be skewed by Tinseltown, there is no getting around the fact that my two favorite moves of all time are:

1. Spartacus

2. Ben Hur

So you can see how I might be predisposed to thinking Rome was the bad guy. I mean I grew up with this stuff and ate and drank every line in both movies. It’s no wonder that a kid who just naturally gravitated toward little plastic army men would find these movies irresistible! In fact, when I think about it, when I asked my mom to buy me some of the treasure chests of plastic army men featured in the back of comic books, I would choose the ancient sets, not WWII or Civil War. Amazing how you are born with that natural proclivity and how persistent it remains to this day with my love affair with DBA!

Many times when you’re REALLY into something, you can’t imagine the rest of the world isn’t aware of the same. I’m always flabbergasted that DBA, with its small unit size, elegant tactics and ability to cross historical era’s with ease isn’t more popular. Of course I’m going to do my part however small to change that. The movies Ben Hur and Spartacus create the same sense of disbelief that more people aren’t as in love with them as I am. lol.

Recently these movies came up in casual conversation at my job and I was shocked to learned that most of the people around me, who are less than 30 years old, hadn’t ever even seen either Ben Hur or Spartacus! The lure of all of the cable channels, internet, and a busy life in general have left these classics to collect dust.

So to that end, check out my vodpod videos at the top right for a few scenes to remember them by or possibly (aghast) as your introduction to those cinematic gems!

So I hereby announce to the public and large and my own soul, I shall hereafter NOT ever play with any Roman Army in DBA! Let it be written! Let is be done!

Musashi


7 responses

  1. My Polybians want to have a word with you.

    October 3, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    • Stern words aren’t going to help your evil empire!

      October 3, 2010 at 2:38 pm

  2. So it is written, so mote it be.

    see if you can guess the originator of that line.

    October 3, 2010 at 3:42 pm

  3. They are indeed great movies! I too boycott Roman armies. They weren’t exactly as benevolent as they were made out to be as they went out to conquer the “barbarians”. I must admit I have an early imperial army I let people use as a loaner, I think I only used it myself once in a training game. Give me the “barbarians” any time. I’ve beaten more Roman armies than I’ve lost to… coincidence… I think not. πŸ˜‰

    October 3, 2010 at 4:59 pm

  4. Once I too boycotted playing the Hegemonic Capitalist Oligarchy of Rome.

    As a perpetual rebel and underdog player (card holding member of the Blue Man Group…go Picts!) I’ve p-tooied on the thought of playing those jerks again.

    ..but like that old Star Trek episode where that loser captain warns Kirk about the Roman planet…’the Romans always win’. They do. Not just on the board, few other armies offer such fun and blingy modelling and painting outlets.

    I share your pain.

    May 11, 2011 at 1:34 am

    • I am coming along about it too. They are so fun to paint and very bling bling. I’m torn now lol.

      May 21, 2011 at 3:03 pm

  5. Say what you want, but I have no love for the “shoeless masses”.
    Just say no to dirty feet! πŸ™‚

    April 24, 2012 at 6:12 am

Leave a Reply

